Sunday, 30 August 2015

A Pirate's Time Served by Chris Malburg : Review (Book Tour)

*This book was given to me for free by Worldwind Virtual Book Tours in return for an honest review, however this doesn't effect my opinion* 
A Pirate's Time Served by Chris Marburg
Published by: Smashwords Edition
Publication date: July 20th 2015

Genres: Pirate, Thriller, Paranormal

Careful what you wish for...

Sarah Schilling’s twelve year-old brother is wicked smart. But this? Pure genius. Brian snagged an invitation to spend the summer with their favorite aunt and uncle on St. Croix. Uncle Jack tells them, “There will probably be some swimming, some diving. We like to run. There’s a range, so maybe you’ll learn to shoot. Cooking. Your Aunt Helen is a classically trained chef. You knew that, right? There’s the Mallard seaplane, so maybe you’ll learn something about flying. That sort of thing.”


That sort of thing sounds like too much work for Sarah Schilling’s summer on the beach. Until Brian’s scuba regulator mysteriously fails sixty feet underwater. Her training snaps into laser focus. During Brian’s rescue they unearth the 250 year-old secret of Black Bart—the pirate and his ghost. The discovery launches them into a hurricane of peril at the hands of modern-day pirates. The Schilling family will not survive unless Brian and Sarah discover the most powerful weapon that is within themselves.

A Pirate’s Time Served is a YA thriller of a ghost story. It shows how two teens can dig deeper than they thought possible, discovering what it means to lead, to follow, and to never ever give up—especially on family.

A Pirate’s Time Served is my third novel. I wrote it while attending Stanford’s Writers School, Continuing Education. My second novel, God’s Banker, reached number eight on Amazon’s suspense list. I have also written eleven business books published by Simon & Schuster, Putnam, McGraw-Hill, Wiley, and Adam.


My Thoughts
This book took me about a week to read, which is quite a while for it only being 25 chapters and some of them having 10 or less pages. I really had to work myself up to read this, I had just waited for too long after getting it to reading it.

On the whole the book was quite well written though you could tell it was written by a middle aged man.

The characters were quite well written, there wasn't much description of appearances which I liked because I usually just ignore the descriptions anyway. I thought Jck was a really interesting and complex character. I would love to read a book about Jack's life and all his travel's round the world

At around chapter 3 I got really into the book then at around chapter 18 I lost interest again because there was so much technical language and that went in one in and out the other. I loved the addition of the quest because it really brought them even closer together.

In conclusion, it wasn't a bad book but I don't think I would recommend it to anyone who wasn't hugely into pirates. I'm giving this 3/5 stars.

I am writing this on the last day of the tour but if you want to read the rest of the reviews, interviews and extracts click here.

Wednesday, 26 August 2015

Top 3 favourite singers

Hi guys

I don't usually do any posts not about books but I've been thinking about making this post for a while now.  As usual this is in no specific order.

1. Taylor swift
I love Taylor Swift. She is really honest about things in her songs, she doesn't sugarcoat anything, which makes all her songs so relatable. She's also an amazing person. I have watched most documentaries I can find on her and everyone they interview about her always says that she is so down too earth. A breath of fresh in today's media.

2. Avril Lavigne
Avril Lavigne was the first singer that I ever really feel in love with. I probably first listened to her when I was 5 or 6 and I instantly feel in love with her songs. She unlike Taylor is less of a role model but I still think that she is an incredibly talented artist. In her most recent album, she wrote all of her songs as well as producing some of them.

3. Lucy Spraggan
Lucy Spraggan was on the x factor a couple of years ago and like any people I loved her after her first song. I sadly haven't seen her in concert yet but she is definitely next on my list.

Sunday, 23 August 2015

Book to Movie Adaptations I still need to see

Hi guys

I've been wanting to do more fun posts, so here goes. I'm doing my top 5 book to movie adaptation I still need to see. In no particular order.

1. The Maze Runner
I have read the book a while ago but then I got spoilt on the ending and the characters that die but I would still like to eventually watch the film. It's apparently quite true to the book and it has Dylan O'Brian, who is possibly one of the sassiest people on the planet.

2. An Invisible Sign
I read the book last year and I found it a bit confusing, so I'm hoping the film will help me understand the story a bit more. One of my friends loves this film but then lost the DVD and I can't find the film in any store.

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower
I didn't like the book because it was a bit too mature for me. I've heard that it's nothing like the book and Emma Watson is meant to be amazing in it.

4. Jurassic Park
I've never read the book but one of my friend's is completely obsessed with the series. It's also a classic film that everyone except me seems to have watched.

5. The Wizard of Oz
My mum hates this film so I never watched it as a kid but after seeing wicked the musical twice now I would quite like to see the original story.

Wednesday, 19 August 2015

This Book Needs A Title : Volume 2 by Theodore Ficklestien : review

*This book was given to me for free by netgalley in return for an honest review, however this doesn't effect my opinion*
                                                This Book Needs A Title : Volume 2 by Theodore Ficklestien
Published by: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication date: June 20th 2015
Genres: humour, poetry
 
The second volume of poetry by Theodore Ficklestein.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
My Thoughts
I had super high expectations for this book and I can happily say that my expectations were met if not exceeded. This is one of the best poetry books I have ever read.
 
My favourite thing about this book is the variety of poems, that ranged from quite serious to laugh out loud hilarious. Some of my favourite poems were; Fake Lily, Buddha, My Problem and Forgetting Everything. If there is one thing that I didn't like about this book, it's that one of  the poems was cinnamon flavoured and I think cinnamon I'd the food of the devil, so I wasn't keen on that. but apart from that it was practically perfect in every way.
 
In conclusion, you need to read this book, though maybe avoid A Sour Poem if you are allergic to cinnamon. I'm giving it 5/5 stars.
 

Thursday, 13 August 2015

Booktubeathon 2015 wrap-up

Hi Guys

I know I'm appalling it's been 4 days since the end of booktubeathon and I'm only just writing this, eek. The truth is I completely failed booktubeathon 2015. I only finish 3 books and one of them was 12 pages long.

The Magic Finger by Roald Dahl
This is my favourite Roald Dahl and I've read it so often I can read it in less then half an hour. So, when I heard about read a book without putting it down I instantly thought of this. I did manage to read this without putting it down, yay. In total it's 59 pages.

Don't Judge a Book by it Cover by Adele Parks
I loved this story, it was really interesting how she manages to tie everything together in such a short space of time. This was the only 'book' on by shelf by an author with their surname beginning P. In total it was 12 pages.

Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson
This is one of my friends favourite books and she is very persistent about people reading the books she likes. I'm so glad she got me to read this, really enjoyed and a  review should be coming soon. In total it's 449 pages.

I also read the first 3 chapters of 'A Pirate's Time Served' by Chris Malburg, which doesn't have a page count but I'm guessing that around 30 pages. Then I read the first 37 pages of 'Dying to Know You' by Aidan Chambers.

Sunday, 2 August 2015

The Other Me by Saskia Sarginson : review

The Other Me by Saskia Sarginson
Published by: Little, Brown Book Group UK
Publication date: March 2015 (I can't find the specific date)
Genres: Contemporary, Thriller

Eliza Bennett has the life she's always dreamed of.
She's who she wants to be, and she's with the man she loves.

But Eliza is living a lie. Her real name is Klaudia Meyer.
And Klaudia is on the run. She's escaping her old life, and a terrible secret buried at the heart of her family.

This is the story of Eliza and Klaudia - one girl, two lives and a lie they cannot hide from.

Psychological and suspenseful: the gripping story of one girl living a double life.

From rising star Saskia Sarginson, author of The Twins and Without You.

Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Liane Moriarty


My Thoughts

I loved this book. I was slightly worried when I found out it was MPOV because I had never read a book that had used it well but Saskia was brilliant at switching between the characters.

I thought the characters where great and I loved all of them even the teeny tiny side characters. There was great character development and I definitely welled up at the end.

My only problem with this book was that there was a section of the ending that I thought was a bit unrealistic but it was essential for the plot.

In conclusion, it was agreat book that I would recommend to all ages. I'm giving this 4.5/5 stars.

*This book was given to me for free by netgalley in return for an honest review, however this doesn't effect my opinion*